Atalaya Golf’s magnificent Old Course hosted the first Andalucía Golf tournament this year. As with all tournaments organised by Andalucía Golf/España Golf magazine, the field included players of many different nationalities, with Spaniards predominant on this occasion. Everyone enjoyed a superb day of golf on the prestigious course designed by Bernhard Von Limburger and opened in 1967, followed by lunch at the Costa del Sol club, located in Estepona municipality.

The competition distributed numerous gifts – to both the top finishers and the raffle winners – sponsored by the fairway+blue store in Puerto Banús, Holiday Golf Group and Somontano Designation of Origin wines.

The amateurs competing in the tournament displayed a generally good level of golf, and later said they had thoroughly enjoyed playing the course.

The awards ceremony, held in the Atalaya clubhouse, where paella and salad was served, was presided over by Andalucía Golf’s Antonio Sánchez and Luis Navarro.

As for the results, the first category winner was Andrey Shultse, with 39 points, while second and third positions went to, respectively, Juan Carlos Mackintosh Cutillas and Alain John Navarro (both 37).

In category two, Pablo Ortega Briesemeister led the way (42), second was Ismael Ortega Calvente (39) and third was Antonio Muñoz Lanzas (38).

The scratch winner was Juan David Carretero Castillo (37), the special prize for ball closest to the pin went to Celia Nebot, and the longest drive prizes were won by Karina Budantseva and David Doyle.

This hugely successful open amateur circuit organised by Andalucía Golf/España Golf magazine is celebrating its 10th anniversary this year, highlighted by a significant increase in the number of clubs where it will be played: 16 (plus the grand final), six more than in the previous edition. It also extends its geographical scope, reaching more points around the country: in addition to the Costa del Sol, it will be held in Madrid, Sevilla, Segovia and Cádiz provinces.

Apart from the Circuit’s usual iconic Costa del Sol courses, this year it will also be played at Royal Sevilla, Golf Santander (Madrid), Retamares (Madrid), Los Angeles de San Rafael (Segovia) and Fairplay Resort (Benalup, Cádiz). The venues on the Costa del Sol are, in order of their dates: Atalaya Old Course, Royal Guadalhorce, Mijas Los Lagos, Santa Clara Marbella, Valle Romano, Royal Sotogrande, Los Arqueros, Royal Valderrama, San Roque New Course, Flamingos Villa Padierna, La Reserva de Sotogrande and Finca Cortesín.



As was the case in 2018 (in 2019 the destination was the Riviera Maya), the top five players on the Circuit will be rewarded with week-long trips to the Dominican Republic, with all-inclusive stays at the five-star Luxury Bahía Príncipe Bouganville hotel and  golf at the spectacular Ocean's 4, Punta Espada and Teeth of the Dog courses. The planned date for the trip is from 26 October to 2 November 2020.

These five winners will be decided at the Circuit’s grand final, to be played on 29 August at Finca Cortesín, the venue for three editions of the Volvo Match Play World Championship. The leading three in each of the two categories plus the best scratch player in each tournament will gain places in the grand final. Prizes of a trip to the Dominican Republic’s Caribbean area will be secured by the top two players in each category and the scratch winner of the grand final.



9 February (Sunday) - Atalaya Old Course (Costa del Sol)

7 March (Saturday) - Fairplay Resort (Benalup - Cádiz)

4 April (Saturday) - Real Club de Sevilla (Sevilla)

16 April (Thursday) - Golf Santander (Madrid)

25 April (Saturday) - RC Guadalhorce (Costa del Sol)

26 April (Sunday) - RC Guadalhorce (Costa del Sol)

7 May (Thursday) - Retamares (Madrid)

9 May (Saturday) - Los Ángeles de S. Rafael (Segovia)

10 June (Wednesday) - Mijas Los Lagos (Costa del Sol)

13 June (Saturday) - Santa Clara Marbella (Costa del Sol)

20 June (Saturday) - Valle Romano (Costa del Sol)

30 June (Tuesday) - RC Sotogrande (Costa del Sol)

1 July (Wednesday) - RC Sotogrande (Costa del Sol)

11 July (Saturday) - Los Arqueros (Costa del Sol)

16 July (Thursday) - RC Valderrama (Costa del Sol)

29 July (Wednesday) - San Roque New (Costa del Sol)

16 August (Sunday) - Flamingos Villa Padierna (Costa del Sol)

22 August (Saturday) - La Reserva de Sotogrande (Costa del Sol)